Posted by: Maryann McCullough | February 1, 2013

Story for February 2013

THE LUCK OF THE LATE BLOOMER*


I had examined an ample assortment of grandparent brag books after having attended a more than adequate allotment of wedding showers. I viewed myself as a woman who had paid her dues. I was getting older. I was beginning to relate to those “always a bridesmaid, never a bride” females

 I recognized the gift of three fine sons, but I wanted more. Not more sons, but more of what I thought three fine sons would provide me. Perfect daughters-in-law and adorable, equally perfect grandchildren.

But through my forties, my fifties, and most of my sixties, my singular claim to fame remained those three fine sons. No small accomplishment, but still…showing off their photos when my friends pulled out their newest shots of their cute little grandchildren did not seem cool.

 But all things come to those who wait.

 The more recent years have been kinder and I now can claim one perfect daughter-in-law (2011), one adorable perfect grandson (2012), and one perfect soon-to-be daughter-in-law (2013).

 I don’t know if the long wait has been responsible for the joy that I find in this new phase of my life.  I don’t know for certain if friends and family are as thrilled as they appear to be when I forward a video of Kaden laughing or carrying on a conversation with himself. But it seems my late bloomer status is now providing me the opportunity to make a unique contribution to the conversation.

I can be the provider of happy talk

 Midst the talk of trouble sleeping or hip surgeries, I can boast of being the discoverer of  Kaden’s first tooth. When the conversation turns to trouble remembering names or misplaced eyeglasses, I can talk about our son’s upcoming wedding.

(The experience is something like my sending my holiday greetings in March or July – a habit begun as a result of disorganization but continued by choice.  An annual greetings sent out of due season is likely to garner a little more attention.  My delayed “maturation” has made me – well, special.)

 And so, just like Leo (that original late bloomer), I finally did make it.

 And I am one lucky  person

 

*with a tip of the hat to my wise friend Mary who alerted me to my special status.

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. So glad you’re enjoying your growing family! You are a lucky woman 🙂

  2. Love this. We have 4 sons, born to usin our mid to late 20’s. None married until 30 or older. I relate! ou bloomed later but the sense is the same. Thanks for sharing.

    Sent from my iPad


Leave a Reply

Categories

